How can I create street light poles model in CityEngine (I have locations of light poles as a point vector shp)

Jump to solution
03-31-2016 01:38 PM
SanghyunChang
New Contributor II

Hello,

I would like to use CGA rule to create pedestrian and signal lights in 3D. I already have their locational data in point form...however I am new to cityengine and I barely understand the concept of CGA... please help me to create the light poles in 3D model! Thanks! (if possible, the bulb of the light pole must be orthogonal to the road/street network)

oh and I was hoping for the complete street cga contained light pole model...but it seems like it doesnt... or maybe im just unable to find it...

thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LR
by
Occasional Contributor III

This should help you get started:

Lot -->
  #s(0,0,0) 
  center(xyz) 
  alignScopeToAxes(y)
  i("assets/3D_City_Design_Assets/Street_Construction/lamps/lamp.02.parallel.lod0.obj")
  #s('1,'1,'1)
  #r(0,40,0)
  center(xz)

Mind the asset path!

View solution in original post

4 Replies
LR
by
Occasional Contributor III

This should help you get started:

Lot -->
  #s(0,0,0) 
  center(xyz) 
  alignScopeToAxes(y)
  i("assets/3D_City_Design_Assets/Street_Construction/lamps/lamp.02.parallel.lod0.obj")
  #s('1,'1,'1)
  #r(0,40,0)
  center(xz)

Mind the asset path!

CherylLau
Esri Regular Contributor

If you have your street light as a pre-modeled asset, then you can easily just insert the asset using i() as Z R suggested above.

i Operation

Otherwise, you could create the street light from stratch in CGA using extrude, resize s(), rotate r(), and translate t() operations.  Tutorial 6 introduces the basics of CGA:

Tutorial 6: Basic shape grammar—CityEngine Tutorials | ArcGIS for Desktop

Maybe the reference pages for CGA are also helpful (especially the operations in the "Transformations" section):

Help -

SanghyunChang
New Contributor II