Chimneys on roof

10-10-2013 12:27 AM
JamieIngall
New Contributor II
Hi there,

I am new to CE and am trying to create a variation of building types for a city representation that is based on land cover. I have extruded buildings with various features but i am not aware of how to add roof features such as chimneys etc. I have read the desert city tutorial but the scripting is complex and the roof features are predominantly for flat roofs rather than Gable roofs. 

Does anyone have any advice they would be willing to share on where to begin?

Thanks in advance.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
MatthiasBuehler1
Frequent Contributor
Hi !

sharing knowledge - that's what this forum is about ! 😮

can you post a few reference images of what you need precisely ?

cheers !

m.
0 Kudos
JamieIngall
New Contributor II
Hi Matthias,

thanks for the reply!

I have attached an image that I found on the city engine forum together with an actual image of the kind of thing I want to represent...
Although I do not necessarily need to go in to such fine detail, I need a rule which will create chimneys for detached and terraced housing.  Ideally these  would be random in height/width and shape?

Thanks again,

Jay

[ATTACH=CONFIG]28227[/ATTACH]  [ATTACH=CONFIG]28226[/ATTACH]
0 Kudos
MatthiasBuehler1
Frequent Contributor
Hi !

Here's 2 strategies which proved being useful :

I recoded them for you with notes. Check if you understand every single thing in this code.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]28269[/ATTACH]

Let me know where's questions.

Matt
0 Kudos
JamieIngall
New Contributor II
Hi,

Fantastic! great examples thank you for that.

There is a couple of things I am a little confused about;
Within the v1 model :

"ChimneyShape -->
case p(perShapeChimneyProbability) :
  scatter(surface, 1, uniform){PutChimney}
else :
  NIL

PutChimney -->
alignScopeToAxes(y)
s(chimneyDimXZ, chimneyDimY, chimneyDimXZ)
center(xz)
i("builtin:cube")
Chimney."

and within the v2 model :

RoofBase -->