Map Touch Tap To Mouse Click?

01-12-2011 09:33 AM
RyanCoodey
Occasional Contributor III
I am new to working with touch screens but we have a few and the touch gesters work great such as pan and zoom.  We have a toolbar with a few tools such as an identify tool and a measure tool, etc... these are listening for the mouse click event on the map... 

What is the best way to handle both touch taps and mouse clicks?

1) For each tool we created do I need to handle both the MouseClick and the TouchUp events?
2) This wont work for the measure action though because that is an action (which has the clicking embedded), so how do we use the measure action with touch?

Thanks a lot for any info!

*EDIT*
So in I tried this in one of my tools:
        map.MapGesture += Identify_MapGesture;

protected void Identify_MapGesture(Object sender, ESRI.ArcGIS.Client.Map.MapGestureEventArgs e)
        {
            if(e.Gesture == GestureType.Tap)
            {
                ESRI.ArcGIS.Client.Map.MouseEventArgs mouseEventArgs = new ESRI.ArcGIS.Client.Map.MouseEventArgs();
                mouseEventArgs.MapPoint = e.MapPoint; 
              Identify_MouseClick(sender, mouseEventArgs);
            }
        }

And it works pretty good...
0 Kudos
21 Replies
RyanCoodey
No, ToolbarItemClicked is hit with both the mouse and the touch... MeasureAction.Execute() is executed both ways.  It�??s just that the measure action does not respond to map touches, just to map clicks.  Kind of weird...
0 Kudos
RyanCoodey
I found another related issue too with my application on a touch screen:

GraphicsLayer.MouseLeftButtonUp is an ESRI event, so as you said before it is not called with a touch... but I do not see any touch related events in GraphicsLayer so how can I handle this?  I have an eraser tool on our graphic toolbar so with this tool, when you click on a graphic (hence the GraphicsLayer.MouseLeftButtonUp) it can then remove the graphic.