Trying to use jupyter notebooks and arcgis api to access sentinel data

08-18-2020 06:50 AM
BobClark
New Contributor

Hi,

I am just getting started with python and the arcgis api and I’m trying to use jupyter notebook to analyse sentinel data for pre and post fire processing assignment. I found some help online but I keep getting stuck calling in the sentinel data and wonder if someone could please help me?

I would like to try filter by the date and intersection. Do I need to obtain a Token for the sentinel dataset?

from arcgis import GIS

gis = GIS()

sentinel_item = gis.content.search('Sentinel-2 Views', outside_org=True)[0]

sentinel_item

import arcgis

sentinel = sentinel_item.layers[0]

aoi = {'spatialreference': 'WGS 1984',

'xmax': 15804453,

'xmin': 17113072,

'ymax': -3049737,

'ymin': -3888071}

arcgis.env.analysis_extent = aoi

sentinel.extent = aoi

import pandas as pd

from datetime import datetime

startdate = pd.to_datetime(input("What is the fire start date "))

enddate = pd.to_datetime(input("What is the fire end date "))

selected = sentinel.filter_by(where="acquisitiondate BETWEEN timestamp 'startdate' AND timestamp 'enddate'",

geometry=arcgis.geometry.filters.intersects(aoi))

df = selected.query(out_fields='AcquisitionDate, Tile_ID, CloudCover', order_by_fields='AcquisitionDate').df

df['acquisitiondate'] = pd.to_datetime(df['acquisitiondate'], unit = 'ms')

Thanks,

Bob

0 Kudos
6 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hi, 

You would require an ArcGIS Online account to use Sentinel 2 Views. I would suggest you use : gis = GIS("https://www.arcgis.com", "arcgis_python", "P@ssword123") as your GIS object. The details of this account is mentioned in the guide here.

A screenshot is attached to show its working with the gis object mentioned.

0 Kudos
BobClark
New Contributor

Thanks for your help Guneet!!

0 Kudos
BobClark
New Contributor

Hi,