The map does not display in Jupyter

12-26-2022 06:48 PM
Labels (3)
swang
by
New Contributor

Hello there - I am new to ArcGIS API for Python, and had a simple issue in running the test codes as shown below.  I used both conda and pip install arcgis to set up the environments, Both have the same issue. When running it, it says the following errors.  In my situation, I do not have ArcGIS Pro installed at all, as we are planning to develop a project that solely depends on ArcGIS API for Python. Actually, we tested in two situations 1) has ArcGIS Pro, 2) No ArcGIS Pro.  Both have the same error.  Any help is greatly appreciated.

Shuqing

Capture.PNG

0 Kudos
5 Replies
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Did you follow the installation instructions for the available options on this page?

Esri/arcgis-python-api: Documentation and samples for ArcGIS API for Python (github.com)

scroll down to the What's included section.

Any other install method will likely fail.

... sort of retired...
0 Kudos
swang
by
New Contributor

Thank you very much.  I followed the steps the document illustrated as below

1. Install miniconda3

2. Create an environment as conda create -n arcgisenv Python=3.7

3.Activate arcgisenv as conda activate arcgisenv

3. Install arcgis api as conda install arcgis as conda install -c esri arcgis

4. All above succeeded without any error, then launch Jupyter as 

(arcgisenv) C:\>jupyter nbextension enable arcgis --py --sys-prefix
Enabling notebook extension arcgis/extension...
- Validating: ok

(arcgisenv) C:\>jupyter lab

However during step 3, I did get the following error.  Not sure if this is case.

Thank you very much for the help.

Shuqing

Preparing transaction: done
Verifying transaction: -
SafetyError: The package for ipykernel located at C:\Users\shuqing.wang\AppData\Local\miniconda3\pkgs\ipykernel-5.1.1-py37_1
appears to be corrupted. The path 'share/jupyter/kernels/python3/kernel.json'
has an incorrect size.
reported size: 222 bytes