When does getMap() return a valid map?

05-26-2017 09:17 AM
EricPaitz
Esri Contributor

I am using the JavaScript SDK 3.18 and I am relatively new to the SDK. I am using Angular 2 and TypeScript and I am trying to create my own layer that extends the ArcGISDynamicMapServiceLayer and I need access to that map so I can listen to the extent-changed event. I have tried the following in my TypeScript.

export class MyDynamicMapServiceLayer extends ArcGISDynamicMapServiceLayer {
    constructor(url: string, options? ArcGISDynamicMapServiceLayerOptions) {
        super(url, options);
        this.on('load', (event) => {
            //Check this.getMap() here
            this.getMap();
            this._map;
            this['_map']
            event.target.getMap();
            event.layer.getMap();
        });
    }
}

I have tried to get a reference to the map from the load event several different ways without success. What is the correct way to either get a reference to the map or to listen to the extent changed (so I can get access to the current LOD) from within a custom layer? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,

-eric

0 Kudos
10 Replies
HemingZhu
Occasional Contributor III

this._map=super.getMap();??

0 Kudos
EricPaitz
Esri Contributor

Thank you for the reply but super.getMap() also seems to return null.

super(url, options);
            console.log(super.getMap();
        });
    }
}
0 Kudos
HemingZhu

base on MDN javascript doc, super.functionOnParent([arguments]) is the way to call. The only issue here is that the layer has to be loaded on the map before you can call this to get the map instance. tried this

super.on('load', (event) => {
       console.log(this.getMap());
});
0 Kudos
EricPaitz
Esri Contributor