Turning on and off layers on a Map

Jump to solution
03-13-2013 04:44 AM
FrankFlynn
New Contributor II
I am new to JavaScript API.  I have a map with a number of feature layers added.  I would like to be able to turn on and off these layers through the JavaScript API, yet I cannot seem to find a way to recognize the different layers on the map through the API.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
FrankFlynn
New Contributor II
I was speaking with an ESRI employee and he said the layers added this way are actually graphic objects... so he suggested a small change to our code... which works!  Thanks so much.

function mapLoaded() {

var layerIds = map.graphicsLayerIds;
console.log(layerIds.length);
var layer;
for (var i=0; i < layerIds.length; i++) {
layer = map.getLayer(layerIds);
console.log(layer.name);
layer.hide();
}

}

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
13 Replies
DianaBenedict
Occasional Contributor III
You say you have FeatureLayers. How are you using/implementing these feature layers? What is their mode type? I ask this because in my case, I use FeatureLayers exclusively for editing. I also use the MODE_SELECTION so that the acutal features are not streamed across the network unitl a user has indicated what feature(s) they would like to edit .. therefore the user can not see them until I request the data from the server.  Since I use  MODE_SELECTION I have to add the respective MapServer service to display the data when users are not editing.  Here is the sample that ESRI has to explain how these two situations work:
http://help.arcgis.com/en/webapi/javascript/arcgis/jssamples/ed_selectionmode.html

With that said, most sample that ESRI uses for implementing FeatureLayers are either MODE_ONDEMAND or MODE_SNAPSHOT.  Refer to all the sample for FeatureLayers here is another common example:
http://help.arcgis.com/en/webapi/javascript/arcgis/jssamples/fl_ondemand.html