Use a GPS Tracker in a web application

02-11-2015 07:56 AM
El_BoukfaouiReda
New Contributor II

Dear,

I am using this GPS tracker(http://kenshinjeff.jp/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/User-manual-TK102-2.pdf ).

I want now to get real time movement data locations on top of my basemap service using the ArcGIS JS API and without getting to use GeoEvent processor Extension

I have done my research and I found that there is a possibility to use this library(fvdm/nodejs-tk102 · GitHub‌)

Has anybody got any experience setting this up before?

I need more details and guidance please.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
HaroldBostic
Occasional Contributor II

that's a pretty loaded question and will require some thought based on your responses.  Do you already have Node up and running?  What's your productions environment, windows, linux?

0 Kudos
El_BoukfaouiReda
New Contributor II

I know it is a pretty important question as well to me right now.

I don't have a Node up on running! I am very new to this processing. For me it is almost in R&D.

My production environment is Windows, but I still can work with a Linux Desktop through a virtual partition within my current machine hopefully.

Do you think the tutorial is a good resource to follow even if the GPS Tracker is not the same?

I recognize though some processes which are mutual to my GPS Tracker TK-102 which is a Siemens and not a Xexun !

0 Kudos
AlexBostic
New Contributor II

I'm not a GPS tracker guy, so take that I don't think the differences will be major with a grain of salt.  To get started with Node in a windows environment, I would recommend downloading Chocolatey Gallery and using that as you windows package manager.  then from your command line you can do this

C:\> choco install nodejs.install

I suppose you'll need to have your device connected to your machine so that it can communicate to your open port.