javascript 4.6 and labeling FeatureLayer

Jump to solution
01-09-2018 02:59 PM
CynthiaKozma
Occasional Contributor II

I am new to javascript, but I am trying to put together a fairly simple application with v4.6.  I have a contour layer that I am adding with new FeatureLayer(), but I am having a hard time getting it to label with elevation.  I have tried using a Map Service hosted on our server, as well as, a hosted Feature Layer on AGOL (where the contours are already labeled in both).  No luck with either.  I have read that you can't label a 2D map, does this mean that it is virtually impossible to label the contours??  Is there any work around?  A label would be so much better than a pop-up.  Thanks for the help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Cynthia,

That is correct if you need to label on the client then you have to use 3.x currently. If you have the mxd label the contours then when you add the MapImageLayer you will see the labels in 4.x though.

View solution in original post

16 Replies
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Cynthia,

That is correct if you need to label on the client then you have to use 3.x currently. If you have the mxd label the contours then when you add the MapImageLayer you will see the labels in 4.x though.

ChrisSmith7
Frequent Contributor

Are there any updates on when this might come down the pipe? 

0 Kudos
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Currently (4.8) labeling is supported for Point and Polygon Feature coming from a FeatureServer service on 10.6.1 server (not a MapServer service).

ChrisSmith7
Frequent Contributor

I'm currently trying to label a MapServer FeatureLayer (kind of like this example - Add labels to a FeatureLayer | ArcGIS API for JavaScript 4.8 ), but I'm not having much luck. So far, I have:

1) Labeled on the MXD (the service now shows Has Labels: true)

2) Set-up a labelClass, as per the example referenced