How to make Slider listen to thumb-change

Jump to solution
03-24-2020 04:36 AM
Gianna_BBSRC
Occasional Contributor

Hi everyone, 

I'm a bit of noob at this js stuff. I have a multi-dimensional mosaic dataset (netCDFs) with two dimensions: year and fma. 

• year spans from 2005 to 2100
  • fma spans 1 to 11 (these correspond to different scenarios)

What I would like to learn how to do is to make the Slider (aka rangeSlider) listen and change the data displayed when a user changes the slider value on the right (1-11).

See my jsfiddle here

Any help is massively appreciated. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AnneFitz
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Gianna - I still only see the topo basemap in both the link you sent and in the jsfiddle, and there's errors about the layer not loading in the console: 

[esri.layers.ImageryLayer] #load() Failed to load layer (title: 'WdlndExp netcdf', id: '17119272bda-layer-0') ‍
   name: "request:server"

But I think in your function you want to access the first object in the multidimensionalDefinition array, and set the value on that.

mosaicRuleClone.multidimensionalDefinition[0].values = [value];

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
AnneFitz
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Gianna,

It looks like you're doing it right in your code, the issue is that the function you are trying to call when the slider thumb value changes (updateFMA(event.value)) is undefined. 

Try this and see if you get the event value to print in the console.

slider.on(['thumb-change', 'thumb-drag'], function(event) {
   console.log(event.value);
});‍‍‍

Hope this helps! 

0 Kudos
Gianna_BBSRC
Occasional Contributor

Hi Anne,

Thanks for that. Cool to see that something is happening. It does print the slider value to the console when I thumb-change/thumb-drag.
So now how do I make the data change when I change the slider?

Thanks for your help!

0 Kudos
AnneFitz
Esri Regular Contributor