Beginner Guide to Javascript and Widgets

01-07-2021 02:20 AM
higgy7
by
New Contributor III

Hi,

I am a complete newbie to Javascript, I normally use WAB and WAB Developer. Is there anyway to use the point clustering talked about in this blog:

https://www.esri.com/arcgis-blog/products/js-api-arcgis/mapping/summarize-and-explore-point-clusters...  

Within WAB? I don't think I have the access to install  ArcGIS API for JavaScript . Is there someway to put this:

https://developers.arcgis.com/javascript/latest/sample-code/featurereduction-cluster/index.html 

In a widget and bring it into WAB for the user to use.

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
7 Replies
shaylavi
Esri Contributor

Both links refers to the javascript API version 4.x. WebApp Builder is based on version 3.x of the API.

So referring to what presented in the links, the answer is no. You can however, use the available cluster options available for version 3 of the API as explained here - https://developers.arcgis.com/javascript/3/jssamples/layers_point_clustering.html

And of-course the functionality can be wrapped as part of a widget in the Dev' edition.

Shay
0 Kudos
higgy7
by
New Contributor III

Hi Shay, 

Thanks for the quick response. Is there any guide on how to do this? For example when i download the info from that link, the folder structure is as follows:

higgy7_0-1610017208532.png

The apps i would use have a structure similar to this:

higgy7_1-1610017270037.png

Are there other steps i would have to take? Sorry about my lack of knowledge!

0 Kudos
shaylavi
Esri Contributor

I don't really understand what you're trying to achieve.

If it's just to display a layer as clusters, you don't need a widget or WAB, you just configure the layer to be shown as cluster layer through a webmap at Portal and consume that layer as you do through WAB.