Allow users to switch symbologies based on attribute of interest, ArcGIS Javascript API

Jump to solution
03-05-2018 07:51 AM
MKF62
by
Occasional Contributor III

I will be creating a web map using the Javascript API but I'm really new to the whole thing and I'm wondering if this is possible. I have a vector layer which contains attributes on habitat status, coarse habitat classification, and fine habitat classification. I would like to allow users to switch between symbologies based on these attributes. For example, the habitat status attribute holds 0s and 1s, thus it's symbology would show two different colors. The coarse habitat classification attribute holds about twenty different codes, thus it's symbology would show twenty different colors. The fine habitat classification attributes holds even more codes, thus more colors. 

To achieve this, do I need to create different symbology renderers and then activate them based on clicks to some button or something on the interface? Or do I need to publish the same layer symbolized in the ways I want as three separate services?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MKF62
by

Hi Robert, I'm reporting back. I have something that works, though I have a feeling it could be a lot cleaner than the way I did it. I'm a newbie when it comes to javascript and dojo, so the way I do things might be kind of clunky...definitely open to suggestions. 

Here is the HTML:

<body>
  <div id="viewDiv"></div>
  <div id="toggleLayers">
    <legend>Toggle layers:</legend>
    <label><input type="radio" id="qhStatusLyr" name="chosenLayer" value="qhStatus" checked> Quail Habitat Status</label>
    <label><input type="radio" id="coarseHabLyr" name="chosenLayer" value="coarse"> Coarse-level Habitat Types</label>
    <label><input type="radio" id="fineHabLyr" name="chosenLayer" value="fine"> Fine-level Habitat Types</label>
  </div>
</body>‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍