Help a beginner get rolling with Flex and ArcGIS, please!

07-29-2010 07:52 AM
JeremyCoulson
New Contributor III
Hey, I received a good answer from a post yesterday, so I'm hoping to get equally awesome help today. I am brand new to GIS concepts and have really only worked with Flex by hand-writing some MXML and AS files and compiling them myself without Flash Builder.  We are launching two mapping sites here: one is using the .NET API and the other is using Flex.  I am working with a GIS tech to get the Flex one started; the .NET site is being done by someone else.  We have added one of our own map services to the site and we're seeing our county.  Awesome.  We just don't know where to go from here.  The links below are for sites that are not publicly linked yet.

Our Flex site:
http://208.11.222.208/gis_temp/flexviewer/

The .NET site:
http://gis1.co.frederick.va.us/frederickcountyva/Default.aspx

See how the map seems to show different layers on the .NET site as you zoom in?  How do we accomplish this on the Flex site?  Also, where should we look or what should we read for our next step?  I'm certainly not asking for anyone to do my job for me, but we really would love some pointers for the right direction.

I'll post the code for our config.xml if it's of any help.

<?xml version="1.0" ?>
<!--
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//
// Copyright (c) 2010 ESRI
//
// All rights reserved under the copyright laws of the United States.
// You may freely redistribute and use this software, with or
// without modification, provided you include the original copyright
// and use restrictions.  See use restrictions in the file:
// <install location>/License.txt
//
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
-->
<configuration>
    <httpproxy enabled="false">proxy.php</httpproxy>
    <title>Frederick County General Mapping</title>
    <subtitle></subtitle>