Measuring distance between one point and multiple other points along a polyline of a complex dendritic network

07-23-2020 06:25 PM
EricWalther
New Contributor II

Hi, I am new to GeoNet so apologies if this question has been answered elsewhere and I have not found it yet. I have searched previous posts and have not found a solution (for what I can tell) to my problem.

I have a point shapefile with ~60,000 points. For each point in this shapefile, I need to obtain the distance between that point and every other point along a polyline, which is a separate line shape file. The line shapefile represents a complex dendritic river network. For example, for point xi, I need to calculate the distance between point xi and point y1, y2...yn, where n is the number of points in the point shapefile. I do not have access to the Network Analyst extension. I am a python novice, but competent at coding in R which has been somewhat helpful trying to learn python. I have also used model builder if there is a solution using that approach. Thanks for the help!

8 Replies
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

What final information do you need to get out of the distances?

I don't think that you want 60,000 to X combinations of distances without a final purpose

... sort of retired...
0 Kudos
EricWalther
New Contributor II

Hi Dan,

I am developing a spatially explicit regression model and need the distances between each event (point in the shapefile) to develop my covariance matrix for modeling. The near analysis will give you euclidean distance between points, correct? I need the actual river distance (distance traced along the polyline) between each point. Using euclidean distance between locations will result some pairs that are actually relatively far apart  within the river network seem closer to each other than they really are. Thanks!

Eric

0 Kudos
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor