Adding Fields When Creating an LRS Network

09-06-2018 12:36 PM
anayoung
New Contributor III

Hello,

This might sound like a rather silly question but I'm new to building LRS networks. And this is driving me nuts!

When you create an LRS network the process creates a feature class for you with only three fields. You can change the name of the fields but cannot add any fields until your done creating the network feature. My issue is that the SHAPE_Length field ends up being in the middle of the table rather than at the end once you add the new fields. I want the SHAPE_Length field to be at the end like it normally is. How do I get it there? This is not your normal type of feature class. See step 9 in the below link:

Creating an LRS Network—Roads and Highways Desktop | ArcGIS Desktop 

In my quandry I imported a feature class with all off the features and fields I wanted into the geodatabase with the LRS ( this feature was used to load the routes), renamed the the feature class that the process described above created, and named my imported the name of the LRS network feature class. That seems to work but it still scares me...is this how it's done?

Thanks,

Ana

0 Kudos
2 Replies
CliveReece
Esri Contributor

Hello Ana,

I understand your trepidation about swapping out one of the ALRS feature classes with a copy that you modeled independently.  Be reassured, that is a valid method we commonly use in a professional services consulting engagements.  But  ... you do need to be very careful about matching the coordinate reference system and XY and M tolerance and resolution settings with those that match the ALRS.  If you don't, you'll break the data integrity model of the ALRS.  And (with near 100% confidence) the default settings when you create a new feature class are *not* going to match the XY/M tolerance and resolution settings for your ALRS. 

I'll mention three tools that we use for re-ordering fields in a feature class:  

TLDR ... skip ahead to #3. Notepad ++