Python Cursors and Dictionaries- I am no Turbo Mechanic!

04-17-2018 05:00 PM
GrahameRoss1
New Contributor II

using rfairhur24 very helpful blog on "Turbo Charging Data Manipulation with Python Cursors and Dictionaries", I have managed to create two separate libraries to compare to a cursors:

Comparison 1: Returns  records that are in table 'A' but not in Feature Class (FC) 'B' with the output being a list of fields    from table 'A' and a field stating that the record in table 'A" might need to be deleted. results in 4 records.

Comparison 2: To identify changed areas in table 'A' and FC 'B', with the output being key value and acreage from FC    'B'. results in 11 records.

using insertRow and setValue, I can get either of the cursor comparisons to write to Table 'c'. I can't get the script to write the first comparison and then write the second comparison, resulting in a change table with the two types of changes totaling 15 records.

I can hack code pretty good, but I obviously have a logic and reasoning issue when creating new code...

any help is greatly appreciated!!

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
RichardFairhurst
MVP Honored Contributor

First, since you mention that you are using SetValue method, it sounds like you are using the outdated cursors that predate the da cursors, since SetValue is not necessary with da cursors.  If you are, I highly recommend using only da cursors.

Without seeing the code you have attempted, it is a little difficult to understand the logic you are attempting.  I do know that dealing with InsertCursors can be tricky, since they can cause failures if they are initialized inside of a loop or if the schemas of the two tables you are comparing are different and you did not take care to standardize the field order and number of values expected by the receiving table.