Creating groundwater flow paths

01-08-2013 08:05 PM
LeahVB
by
New Contributor
Hi,

I want to create a map showing groundwater flow paths using a combination of surface topographical data and hydraulic head.  (I also have vertical hydraulic gradient data, if that's useful.)  My study site is approx. 30-m x 30-m.  I have many land elevation survey points and 8 points for hydraulic head.

I do know how to create a DEM for surface contours... and I expect it would be the same for hydraulic head.  What I don't know how to do is connect the two pieces of information to create one groundwater flow path map.  While reading up on this process I understand that kriging would be a good method to create the two separate layers.  Then you are supposed to turn the information into raster format (which I have not quite been able to figure out.) 

Thanks for any help!  I'm fairly new to ArcGIS and have been trying to figure out these flow paths for my Master's thesis.  If this tool works for me, that would make a world of difference!

Leah
0 Kudos
4 Replies
GregoryGeise
New Contributor
Hi Leah,

I was doing something similar. I wanted to create a water table surface from water elevations in wells throughout my study area and stream elevations. The tool you want is Topo to Raster in 3D Analyst>Raster Interpolation. From there, you can add up to four features to have considered in the interpolation. For mine, I included the water elevation feature and the stream elevation feature.

Hope this helps,

Greg
0 Kudos
LeahVB
by
New Contributor
Hi Greg,