Display Z value  ??

04-28-2010 08:44 PM
Divyaprasad
New Contributor II
Hi

In my application I have used sample flex viewer in which the banner used displays the value of X & Y cordinates on mouseMove. Similarly, Is it possible to display even Z value along with (X,Y). how do i get it ? Im new to flex and help is very much needed. Please help.

Diya
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
10 Replies
karldailey
New Contributor
are you talking about the zoom level on the map?  does myMap.scale help?  myMap is the ID of your ESRI map
0 Kudos
Divyaprasad
New Contributor II
are you talking about the zoom level on the map?  does myMap.scale help?  myMap is the ID of your ESRI map

Hey autokad

Thanks for ur reply, but my problem is not wid zoom level. i have my map with DEM data. when i move mouse over map it displays the lat long (X,Y) values. similarly i want to display elevation (Z value) on mouse move..

Im using Sample flex viewer - Banner which displays cordinates - if that helps 

Thanks
0 Kudos
Divyaprasad
New Contributor II
somebody please help..
0 Kudos
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus
Diya87,

It help to understand how the XY in the Banner is getting there. Basicly when the mouse moves over a Flash Stage the mouse knows its coordinates based on the stage size and values like X: 300 and Y: 126 are returned from the mouse move event, those values are then feed to the map.toMapFromStage function and actual map coordinates are returned. There is not function on the map component that will return Z. As the Flex ArcGIS API is right now and the REST endpoint that Flex consumes there is no Z-Aware capability on a map service. The only way you could possibly get a Z Value from a DEM is to build a geoprocessing task that you could fire on a mouse click. I do not have any examples of how to do this.
0 Kudos
ZahidChaudhry
Occasional Contributor III