ArcGIS Online Assistant - Query JSON

12-07-2015 09:01 PM
Andre
by
New Contributor II

Hello everyone,

I was hoping for some guidance.  This is what I would like to do:

I have a time enabled layer on AGO.  This layer, within the attribute table, has a start date and a finish date.  Using the current date I would like to display only the features that fall between the start date and finish date. In other words, if the the date range of a feature includes the current date it will be displayed.

Currently, AGO does not allow to filter based on relational elements, like the current date (please correct me if I'm wrong).   In another post a person suggests using something called ArcGIS Online Assistant.  This tool allows you to look at the JSON behind a layer. You can then enter a query into the JSON for the current date,  Once this is done you can save the layer back to ArcGIS online with the new functionality. 

The issue is I have little experience with JSON and do not know the proper syntax to write an appropriate query into the JSON.  Could someone help me out? 

Below is an example of what my JSON looks like where would I write the query and what is the syntax?

{

"layers": [
     {
       "0": {
            "id": 0,
            "layerDefinition": {

"drawingInfo": {
                       "renderer": {
                              "type": "simple",
                              "label": "",
                              "description": "",
                              "symbol": {
                              "angle": 0,
                              "xoffset": 0,
                              "yoffset": 12,
                              "type": "esriPMS",
                              "url": "737ec596-f3ab-4-b8f4-9c952cc048d6",
                              "imageData":"iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAACYAAAAzCAYAAAD7JnqGAAAetc",
                               "contentType": "image/png",
                               "width": 27.999999999999996,