wwf wwf

Jean Claude Kalemba, African Wildlife Foundation, DR Congo

dSCGIS Profile

2016 Introduction Video

2016 Presentation (abstract below) none 
2016 Video -mp4 HD (521mb) 
d

2019 Status

(GIS Officer – Maringa Lopori Wamba Landcape DR Congo)

2018 AGU Meeting, co-author with Janet Nackoney on paper: "GC34A-05 Assessing impacts of agricultural interventions and land use planning activities on defores..."

2016 Profile: Jean Claude Kalembad, DR CONGO 
Organization name: AFRICAN WILDLIFE FOUNDATION (AWF)
*-Organization full street address (in your local format): 16, AV. LUKUSA Immeuble les Palmiers, Kinshasa/Gombe, Democratic Republic of Congo BP 2396
*-Organization full mailing address, if different: 
*-Work phone with country and area code: +243 812628204 / +243 (0) 8139-97586
*-Work fax with country and area code:
*-Main email: africanwildlife@awf.org
*-Organization Web site URL if any: www.awf.org

I have been a GIS Officer at the African Wildlife Foundation (AWF) office in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) since 2009. I was trained at the University of Kinshasa, DRC in agricultural sciences and natural resources management. In my role, I have been managing all GIS activities for the AWF-DRC office as well as field assistants and trainees. My passion lies in the use of GIS and remote sensing as technological tools for helping to analyze and reduce environmental pressures, especially in the rainforest of the Congo Basin. In my work, I assist local communities with participatory mapping activities in order to move toward sustainable land use planning in the northern DRC region. The mapping activities help secure land management rights by the DRC Government, which is especially important for these communities as they lack land tenure security and have no capacity to map their land or engage in long-term land use planning. The work is extremely challenging, as it is field-based, but I am very passionate about the project’s goals and am committed to rei