Federico Riet Sapriza, Uruguay

04-18-2019 11:14 AM

Federico Riet Sapriza, Uruguay

Federico Riet Sapriza   Cetáceos Uruguay    &   University of the Andes, Asst Professor.

xTTT2019-2016   x2019TTT   x2016TTTcourse   xScholar2012   x2012Talk   xUruguay xLatin America   xMammal xDistribution  xDolphin  xWhale    xMarine  xGenetics   xPark   

Academic Profile          Researchgate Profile     

2019 Conference Presentation

2019 Profile:  Federico is a participant in the first-ever SCGIS TTT Summit Meeting. 

"I am a marine biologist focus on the conservation and research of marine mammals. In 2007, I gained a PhD in Zoology and started working at Cetaceos Uruguay, non-profit research and conservation group. The main aim of Cetaceos Uruguay is to promote research and conservation of cetaceans in the Uruguayan coast. I have used GIS for conservation and research since 2009 and have found myself that it has become a key part of my day to day work. The most exciting part of my work with marine mammals is that there is a lack of information about the species that I work with so every finding/result is motivating and innovative. However, the most difficult part is to finance the cost of the research, because there virtually no government research grants; and thus my research funding is from overseas. Further, another difficult part of the work is the lack of interest from the local government and lack of management actions and plans towards marine mammal conservation. Along my career I have conducted my research in collaboration with other international lab/group, and it is now an important and crucial component of my research and conservation work."

2017 Paper  Population Ecology and Conservation Status of the South American Sea Lion in Uruguay

2016 Antarctica Expedition

AN ENCOUNTER WITH ELEPHANT SEALS IN ANTARCTICA  (2016 mission report by University de los Andes)  (Photo above courtesy of IBE Television)