A huge thank you to our GeoNet launch champions!

Blog Post created by timothy_hales-esristaff Employee on May 1, 2015

I want to give a shout out to all those who helped during the launch of GeoNet. A lot of Esri staff and users contributed countless hours to bringing GeoNet online by testing the platform, moderating numerous content, participating in discussions, and many other tasks. One year ago we did a soft launch of GeoNet with a focus on several resilience areas. A lot of good feedback was provided during that time to help shape the community. At the 2014 Esri User Conference we officially launched the community (Read about that here: So what's GeoNet?).


Part of the community launch was the migration of the ArcGIS Forums. We initially did not have an MVP contest like in the old forums, so many of our most valuable contributors were never thanked for all their hard work during this time. We have since started a new contest (Get involved in the new 2015 GeoNet Contest) to recognize those who currently contribute.


In appreciation for all their hard work we would like to recognize our Launch Champions for their contribution to GeoNet. Below is a list of non-staff members who had the highest point totals during the transition period. They will be given a unique "Launch Champion" badge for their profile that has been created specifically for them, and we will be sending each of them a special thank you package as well.


Thank you for your help and continued support of GeoNet!


Launch Champions

Robert Scheitlin, GISP

Dan Patterson

Ken Buja

Tim Witt

Riyas Deen

Anthony Giles

Curtis Price

Richard Fairhurst

Owen Earley

V Stuart Foote

Ian Murray

Joshua Bixby

stefan stamenov


Sol  Wuensch

Johannes Bierer

larry zhang

Brian O'keefe

Steven Graf

Duncan Hornby

Rebecca Strauch, GISP

Darren Wiens

Chris Donohue, GISP

Greg Keith

Chris Sergent