jkerski-esristaff

Esri Brown Bag GIS Education Chats

Blog Post created by jkerski-esristaff Employee on May 27, 2020

We have heard from colleagues in higher education GIS that there is an ongoing need to keep our community connected during these times of rapid change in education and technology.   Join your colleagues in higher education and the Esri education team to learn about tools, data, curricular materials, and teaching approaches during these informal brown bag chats.  Each chat will feature a short presentation about a GIS resource followed by plenty of time to ask for more information of the speaker and to chat with the community.  Each session will be recorded so you can watch it asynchronously if you wish.  Keep checking this blog to view the recordings as they will be uploaded after each brown bag session. 

 

Schedule and recordings: 

 

First TUESDAY of every MONTH at 12 NOON (ET), 11 AM (CST), 10 AM (MDT), 9 AM (PDT)

Duration:  45 minutes including Q&A.

 

Date: Tuesday, June 2, 2020 | 12 NOON (ET), 11 AM (CST), 10 AM (MDT), 9 AM (PDT)

Topic:  Teaching with and using the QuickCapture App.  

  • Topic lead: Ismael Chivite
  • Note: Download the QuickCapture app from the iPhone AppStore or Google Play Store before the brown bag, if you would like to follow along the demo.
  • Link to recording and use the password: 1t?p5fbh
  • Quick Capture learning resources

 

Date: Tuesday, July 7, 2020 | 12 NOON (ET), 11 AM (CST), 10 AM (MDT), 9 AM (PDT)

Topic:  Teaching with and using the Experience Builder to create customized web mapping applications

 

Date: Tuesday, August 4, 2020 | 12 NOON (ET), 11 AM (CST), 10 AM (MDT), 9 AM (PDT)

Topic:  Linking Survey123, web maps, story maps, and dashboards for effective data collection, analysis, and communication. 

 

Complete this survey for September to December brown bag chat topics. Please vote and tell us your topics of interest.

 

Date: Tuesday, September 1, 2020 | 12 NOON (ET), 11 AM (CST), 10 AM (MDT), 9 AM (PDT)

Topic: TBD

  • Topic lead: TBD

 

Date: Tuesday, October 1, 2020 | 12 NOON (ET), 11 AM (CST), 10 AM (MDT), 9 AM (PDT)

Topic: TBD

  • Topic lead: TBD

 

Date: Tuesday, November 3, 2020 | 12 NOON (ET), 11 AM (CST), 10 AM (MDT), 9 AM (PDT) 

Topic: TBD

  • Topic lead: TBD

 

Date: Tuesday, December 1, 2020 | 12 NOON (ET), 11 AM (CST), 10 AM (MDT), 9 AM (PDT) 

Topic: TBD

  • Topic lead: TBD

Outcomes